My Experience at Penguin Random House

J J Hallam

Being a History and English Literature student at University, I decided it was time to dedicate some thought into my future. I had by this point whittled down my desires to focus on a career that was primarily literature or writing based.

Fortunately, in October 2016, I was given the opportunity to spend some time on a work placement with Penguin Random House based in London. Having not the slightest knowledge beforehand of what the demands of a publisher would entail, I was a completely blank slate.

Eager for experience, I didn’t specify a particular area of interest, and so I ended up in the Children’s Marketing and Publicity division. My first false preconception, it that everyone would be middle aged, wearing suits and matching pompous sneers as they carelessly threw hopeful manuscripts into bins. This couldn’t be further from the truth. The dress code is casual, so casual that…

View original post 422 more words

